Author Topic: Daughter of WWII Veteran  (Read 8012 times)

Offline Lavinia

• Seaman Apprentice
  • Total BZs: 1
    • View Profile
Daughter of WWII Veteran
« on: November 02, 2010, 12:07:28 PM »
Hello. My father is a WWII veteran. He was stationed on Aiea naval base in Hawaii from 1944 to 1946. He is 89-years old now and I am helping him put his story together. He started having nightmares and flashbacks several years ago. Since that time, we have had breakfast together every Wednesday. I ask questions, he sometimes answers, sometimes doesn't. In that time, I learned that what we thought he did during the war was only the abbreviated version. He actually worked in naval intelligence as a code breaker (Japanese code). And I also learned that there is good reason for his flashbacks. I am hoping that someone here can help me glean some more information for him.

As for me, I worked as a special education, elementary teacher for 15 years. Since leaving that position, I have worked as a freelance writer. I am now writing books. I am the mother of three plus a dog and a cat. (now I sound like that crazy animal person) Anyway--good to be here. And I am so happy to find a place that is all about submarines! ~L

Offline emeacho

• USS Torsk Volunteer
  • Petty Officer 2nd Class
  • Total BZs: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Daughter of WWII Veteran
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2010, 12:19:44 PM »
Welcome, Lavinia.  Good luck with your project.

Offline Lance Dean

• USS Drum Fan
  • Forum Administrator
  • Chief Petty Officer
  • Total BZs: 10
  • John calls me "Gunner"
    • View Profile
    • My website
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2010, 12:33:37 AM »
Welcome!

Offline BrokenArrowtiger

• Petty Officer 2nd Class
  • Total BZs: 2
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2010, 08:42:25 PM »